is no longer new
    May 2008

How should i cut wood for skinnies?

My town had a windstorm and i've got a lifetime supply of pine and maple. All of it is logs. I literally have any size and length of wood, but i don't know how to split/cut it.

i have no powertools, just 4in. nails and wood wood wood. i'm new to riding skinnies and building them, so nothing technical. just to get over a creek. how do i cut and nail them? i'll get a pic tomorrow of what i've started so far.

any pics/tips for easy to make, small berms and skinnies would be great. thats why i like these forums.

The Voice of Reason
    get the bark off the pines or they will rot pretty quickly. i used a lawn ax to cut a flat side on my log skinny.
    I'm never gonna be a Rock Star

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    Buy a chainsaw and safety equipment for it.

Google safety and learn how to use it so you don't hack your leg off.

http://www.ag.ndsu.edu/pubs/ageng/safety/ae1025w.htm
    .~...|\
    ...~.|.\
    ..~..|..\
    .~...|...\
    ~....|....\
    ...~.|.....\
    ....~|____\
    _____||_________
    .\....FAILBOAT..../

is no longer new
    May 2008
    yeah i started some of it before i posted the thread, and stopped because i thought i was doing it wrong. the nails were WAY too big, and started to split the maple pieces i had slapped on the main beams. today i split all the pine and just did it the old fashion way, like you said: get a lawn axe and make it somewhat flat.
    i finished it today, using smaller nails on the rest of it, and its very sturday. about 10 feet long. hopefully when i remember and feel not lazy, i'll get a pic. in here. a lot more are soon to come now that i have the making process down.

Big Gulps, Alright!
    Quote Originally Posted by callmetheNewGuy