mtbr member
    Apr 2013

New question here. Future pump track specs/dirt composition

Hey All,

I am designing a public pump track (within a larger dirt park) in Colorado, and I am trying to get some info on dirt compositions (engineering design project). I know the ideal is the highest clay content/loam mixture, but what exactly would that be? 90/10 clay/loam? more or less? Thanks! the area is very dry, so rain isnt much of a problem besides a few weeks in the year. Attached is the design that I have thrown together from online research (I have zero experience with pump tracks), and just wondering what you guys think. The height is 55 ft, bottom length 80 ft, and top 20ft. Each side length is about 63 ft. I have a rough estimate of about 5000 cubic feet or 185 yards. Does that seem reasonable? The track is designed for intermediate/expert riders, as there will also be a beginner pump track across the street.

Thanks!
    Kristen
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Future pump track specs/dirt composition-img002-pumptrack.jpg  

trail rat
    We have not seen an exact percentage breakdown. IMBA has a good test:
    18 Steps to Building a Dirt Jump or Freeride Park | International Mountain Bicycling Association
    14. Get Good Dirt

The best soil for the surface of dirt jumps is screened loam with a fairly high clay content. Loam is ideal because it packs firmly and is easy to shape. You should be able form a ball by squeezing a handful of moist dirt. Clods that are difficult to break indicate too much clay content. Depending on the amount of rainfall in your area, the foundation for the jumps may need to be built from a more porous dirt that allows water to drain through, such as gravel or sandy loam. High-quality dirt can be reserved for takeoffs and landings.
    Here is a simple way to analyze what you have.
    DIY Soil Texture Test for Your Yard | Today's Homeowner

Investigate rammed earth construction for good info as well.
    CCCMB web - Facebook