MTBR member
    Jan 2007

Facebook Pages and Devlopement for Your Group, Club, Etc.

Do you run a FB page for your organization? I've been running one for about 6 months. I'm the developement chair for a city-based committee. I do fundraising, FB, and am currently organizing a fundraising event. It's challenging and rewarding, as well as one giant headache (some do nothing, while others do everything). Share your similar experiences. Here's my page: https://www.facebook.com/OgdenTrailsNetwork

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    We do have a group on FB but shifted over to a free site called BigTent. Lot better functionality for scheduling events and creating discussion forums. I think it is pretty slick.

trail rat
    We have used a mailing list for years, since our group has existed for over 25 years. Added a website for calendars, info, information. Started a Facebook page over a year ago, and we use all methods for communication with volunteers. Links to all in my sig.
    CCCMB web - Facebook
    SLO trail maps - conditions

"The physician heals, Nature makes well" - real fortune cookie

Rider, Builder, Dreamer
    There are two separate groups in my town:

1. The community members
    2. The college Students

Between the two groups there are probably about 60 people who ride consistently (say, at least once weekly) and at least that many again who are more casual.

We have a ListServ email for all the community people; 130 addresses are on that list. Every week (usually thursday or Friday) someone will send out an email to the listserv stating times and places for rides the upcoming weekend.