Thread: Carrying Yoke

mtbr member

Carrying Yoke

Has anyone used some sort of yoke to haul buckets of crushed stone?

We hauled a lot of crushed shale in to armor the trails and we have plenty of more work to do. It makes for bomb proof areas that usually get super saturated and close the trail. We were using 5 gallon buckets about 1/2 to 2/3rds loaded and found it to be tough work. I looked online and found a canoe carrying yoke and thought it could easily be transformed to carry two buckets. They also make a 41 inch version. Any experience or ideas?

http://www.austinkayak.com/products/...arry-Yoke.html

jalepenio jimenez
    Although I have no personal experience myself using a carrying yoke like you describe, I did live in southeast asia for awhile where they used something similar. Rather than across the back and both shoulders, the yoke went from front to back across one shoulder.

I'm sure if you can find any pictures of asians carrying goods or water, you will find the device that I am talking about. It must work well because they were used everywhere in Asia.

Another possibility would be something like the old newspaper pouches that paper boys used to use, kind of like front and back saddle bags with a hole for your head. I'm sure with a little thought you could devise some kind of dump bottom so that shucking the load wouldn't be too difficult.
    Last edited by mudflap; 10-09-2008 at 06:28 PM.
    I dig, chop, strangle, yank, stomp, annihilate, mutilate, eradicate, and FU goatheads

featherweight clydesdale
    What's wrong with a wheelbarrow?

mtbr member
    Jan 2006