MTBR member
    Jan 2007

Best GPS/Map Apps for Trail Building

I am looking for a good GPS app for trail building. I'd like to identify waypoints along a route, preferably on a topo map. Are there any good apps out there that you would recommend? Thanks!

mtbr member
    There's a thread on here already with a pretty extensive discussion regarding GPS devices and GPS apps for devices for trail building and mapping.

MTBR member
    Jan 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Cotharyus View Post
    There's a thread on here already with a pretty extensive discussion regarding GPS devices and GPS apps for devices for trail building and mapping.
    Yep, and they're all dated. Thanks for the contribution though.

beer thief
    I've been using Maptech Terrain Navigator for over 10 years. It's pretty user friendly and the maps are standard USGS topographic maps. May not be the best software but it works well for me. I tried DeLorme's PN-20 GPS and associated topo software and found it was a nightmare.

saddlemeat
    Topofusion, Garmin etrex Vista HCx or Galaxy 7" tablet with Backwoods Navigator Pro. I hacked the Garmin to display USGS topos but the tablet really shines with it's huge display of what ever map or aerial view you choose. I run in airplane mode with only the gps turned on, the display is mostly off, and get awesome battery life. Map tiles can be pre-loaded on a large microSD card.
    A Useful Bear is a handy thing.

MTBR member
    Jan 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by bsieb View Post
    Topofusion, Garmin etrex Vista HCx or Galaxy 7" tablet with Backwoods Navigator Pro. I hacked the Garmin to display USGS topos but the tablet really shines with it's huge display of what ever map or aerial view you choose. I run in airplane mode with only the gps turned on, the display is mostly off, and get awesome battery life. Map tiles can be pre-loaded on a large microSD card.
    Is the Backwoods Navigator worth the price? How much memory do I really need?