mtbr member
    Jan 2007

tubeless setup -- need some help

I am new to the . I have Mavic XM 819 (UST) rims and i want to mount my non UST Nokians using Stan's sealant. Any advice/help on how to get the bead to seat would be helpful.

Former Bike Wrench
    Quote Originally Posted by babu9000
    I am new to the . I have Mavic XM 819 (UST) rims and i want to mount my non UST Nokians using Stan's sealant. Any advice/help on how to get the bead to seat would be helpful.
    Mount the tire with a tube first (remove tubeless valve stem) and let sit over night. Then break bead on one side, remove tube and install valve stem. Put in the Stans, put lots of soapy water on the bead, and use an air compressor to seat.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    Thanks I'll give it a shot...

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by mtnbiker72
    Mount the tire with a tube first (remove tubeless valve stem) and let sit over night. Then break bead on one side, remove tube and install valve stem. Put in the Stans, put lots of soapy water on the bead, and use an air compressor to seat.

One other thing I've found on a particularly stubborn bead is to remove your valve core. It lets air in much faster and I've had very good luck getting beads seated doing that. Don't often need to, but it's worked very well when I do.

Former Bike Wrench
    Quote Originally Posted by eric1115
    One other thing I've found on a particularly stubborn bead is to remove your valve core. It lets air in much faster and I've had very good luck getting beads seated doing that. Don't often need to, but it's worked very well when I do.
    Indeed it does, but will require the OP to purchase Stans or Caffelatex valves as the Mavic valves do not have removable cores

mtbr member
    Jan 2007