mtbr member
    May 2012

Tools for the go?

What do you guys carry with you when you ride for quick fixes?? Was debating on finding a decent multitool to throw in my bag, but unsure what all i will need.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Multi-tool, big fat levers (since the tires are tight on my current rim) a spare tube, and a patch kit.

Most any fully-featured multi tool will do (full range of hex keys, phillips/flathead screwdriver, t25 torx, and a chain tool) but my personal recommendation is the Crank Bros Multi 17. One of their few products that I really like. Most multi-tool spoke wrenches are terrible (the one on the m17 happens to not be, for emergencies) so a dedicated spoke wrench for your specific nipples may be warranted.

Research what individual fasteners are on your bike, as you may need smaller torx wrenches.

mtbr member
    I really like the Bell back country tool.. it's cheap, but not too bad.

I'm an airplane mechanic, I tend to be a bit anal about keeping my bike tunesd up and all the fasteners tight.

I take some tools I don't need such as tire levers, I can take my tires off easily, but as often as not, I come across someone, (or my riding buddies) with a flat and feel compelled to help. That's why a carry a spare tube for me, and a patch it to fix others. Cone wrenches are cheap, light, and I have used them quite a few times on other peoples bikes. Alcohol wet wipes to clean up the fingers too.

Never Forget 9-11
    I carry a multitool, chain breaker, quick links, a tube, patches, mini pump, and tire levers. This covers every breakdown I've had so far.

I ride a 10 speed but carry 9 and 10 speed quick links in case I run across someone else with a broken chain.
    It's such a fine line between idiocy and genius.

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I carry a multitool (Crank Bros m17), 9 speed link, tube, patch kit, tire levers, tire sleeve and a hand pump (duh).

mtbr member
    May 2012