mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Small Hex Wrench problems

Are you guys having success with a particular brand of 2.5 mm and 2.0 mm hex/allen wrenches. Over the past few years I tend to run across the problem of reaming out 2 and 2.5 mm bolt heads. From the get go I can feel a little bit of play with my wrench and it just a matter of time until the bolt head will become unusable. I realize I could use less torque, but I get slippage. Actually they still move even when cranking down on them. Specific examples would be my lock-on grips and 30 mm spindle lock ring on my Sram cranks.

beater

Small Hex Wrench problems

I've been happy with my Park Y-wrench.
    "Back off, man. I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman

Riding in Helena? Everything you need to know, right here.

turtles make me hot
    I have a set of Cornwells and a set of Snap On. Both are great.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Thank you for the suggestions. Not the sexiest of topics I know, but I cringe a little every time I get a new piece of gear with a small hex head. 3mm seems to be the cutoff for useful torque with my wrenches.

Plays with tools
    Gold series Bohndus hex keys. They are plus sized for a tighter fit and keep you from rounding out fasteners.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Re: Small Hex Wrench problems

x2 on the Bohndus.

Bear in mind, though, that the maximum torque capabilities of smaller wrenches is significantly lower than, say a 4mm key.

See http://www.bondhus.com/tech-library/body-7.htm. You can easily provide the torque to strip out a small fastener with a 3mm key.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    bondhus

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Nice, I like plus-sized Bohndus design. There is play in my wrenches on new bolt heads. So much so that the ball ends are nearly useless at 2/2.5mm. I inherited them so they could be from Harbor Freight for all I know. Thanks again for the help.

turtles make me hot