Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2009

Rear derailer help.

So for the first time in my riding career I built a bike up from just a bare frame, everything went well but setting up the rear derailer. I got the H and L stops set fine and the tension feels correct but when in the small chain ring the shifts are not that great. The odd thing is when in the middle or big ring it shifts fine. I'm pretty sure chain length is right as I followed the Park Tools directions, only thing I can think of is the derailer hanger might be slightly bent but I would think the problem would happen no matter what chain ring I was in and not only in the small ring. Any input on what to check would be great.

mtbr member
    I'm not an expert, but I found on my last build that when in the small chainring, the tension on the rear der was less so the shifts weren't as crisp or quick. I assume you did the big ring, big ring and add 2 links thing to set the length of the chain?
    How much tension is on rear der when in the big/big?
    I ended up removing an additional link and it made it better....

mtbr member
    May 2007
    If I assume it's a new rear derailleur, check the B screw. It should be close enough so it will keep the chain on during bumpy rides, but not so close that the pulley rubs the cassette or prevents itself from changing gears.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Setting the top pulley closer to the cassette stack can actually exacerbate this problem, as even less tension will wind up on the chain. For what it's worth, if these are new components, the problem is likely the hanger being misaligned, though what you are describing can also happen with a damaged parallelogram on a derailleur.

Knowing the build list of what you used would help as well.

mtbr member
    Jan 2010