mtbr member

Pulling trigger on Park TS 2.2 true stand couple of questions

Pulling the trigger on Park TS 2.2 trueing stand. Should I get the base tray stand. Also, does anyone know of a video on how to center the damn thing.
    When the **** did we get ice cream?

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    as a professional mechanic, i HIGHLY recommend the base, most especially if you have park spoke wrenches.

however, as for the centering, i don't put much stock in that process for a home mechanic. i used to go around to all 6 workstations in the shop and recenter them every month, but it got to be way to much of a hassle, and one thing i found was that the stands consistently tended to migrate to the same position. i found it much more convenient to reach an understanding on where the wheel would set in the stand and flip flop it to get your dish dialed in. however, as a professional mechanic, i also highly recommend a dishing tool if your wheel truing and or building experience progresses.

cheerio!
    -bhd

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    I got a dish tool. Easier over all.

As for the stand, I used a nice piece of thick MDF and bolted the truer onto it.

I used a spade bit to dig a recess in the mdf for the bolt head so its flush.

I can adjust the angle of the stand by srcewing a length of wood on either side of the base. Havent had a need to do it though. The stand is very stable and is easy enough to put away.

mtbr member
    Added, the park Park WAG-4 Wheel Alignment Gauge. I picked this one because you can keep the tire on. Anyone have anything negative about it?

Park WAG-4 Wheel Alignment Gauge from ModernBike.com

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Its not worth the extra 10 bucks for me. If Im truing a wheel, I like to take the tire off to do it right.

I guess it helps if your checking dish in a shop with an unknown bike. Saves time.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007