mtbr member
    Apr 2014

Help Canadian newbie get all necessary tools

Hey all, I just bought a bike for myself and will buy one for my wife.
    I'm total newbie to bicycles, but I love to learn and I like to do things myself to know they're done right.

Could you help me out getting necessary tools to have in a garage for bike maintenance and also to assemble the bikes I bought.

Here are the bikes:
    Marin Bikes | Bobcat Trail 29er | Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes, and City/Commuter Bicycles | us
    Marin Bikes | Coast Trail WFG | Mountain Bikes, Road Bikes, and City/Commuter Bicycles | us

Off the back...
    Good day eh! How's it going eh?

The main things you'll need are:
    2/2.5/3/4/5/6/7/8 mm hex [Allen] keys - MEC has these as a fold-up tool for cheap, or you can get them at Home Depot, Rona, etc.
    T25 Torx [for disc rotor bolts]
    #2 Phillips screwdriver
    Hacksaw
    Cable + housing cutters like this: Filzer Cable Cutter [I like the Park Tool version better]
    Bike pump
    Tire levers
    Bottom bracket tool - although I'd wait until I actually needed to replace the bottom bracket
    hammer
    crescent wrench
    grease
    chain lube [WD-40 is bad for this, but feel free to use synthetic motor oil if you have a little extra left from your last oil change]

For assembling the bike, the hex keys, T25 and the cable cutters are probably all you'll need. Oh yeah the Park Tool Repair Site can show you almost everything you need to know about basic bike maintenance. Check it out BEFORE you dive in to the build. Good luck! Celebrate with beer.

Trail Tire TV on blogger
    honestly, a basic cheapo 1/4 inch driver set will do 90% of what you need that isn't Specialty.. (bottom bracket, cassette and pedal wrenches)