mtbr member

Cheap Finish Line oil at Lowes?

Over in the grease/oil section at Lowes, there are a bunch of different kinds of oil for chainsaws, labelled Dupont but manufactured by Finish Line.

Does anybody have experience with these as bicycle chain lubes? I've never used Finish Line before but I have to wonder whether it is the exact same as Finish Line Dry/Wet/Wax lubes but relabeled for chainsaws and half the price.
    Shop DuPont 4 Oz. Non-Stick Lubricant at Lowes.com

Shop DuPont 4 Oz. Chain-Saver Lubricant at Lowes.com

Shop DuPont 4 Oz. Multi-Use Lubricant at Lowes.com

There are a few more, but here are a few examples.

mtbr member
    I read that alot of folks use chainsaw chain lube on their bike chains. They cut it with mineral spirits I think. Some do the same with motor oil and report good results. I like the chainsaw idea. A jug of that and can of spirits will keep you in bike chain lube for a lifetime.

I do have Finish Line wet lube and I don't care for it. Very sticky. I use Tri-Flow at the moment and it works well. I might try the above mentioned DIY recipe in the future to see how that works.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Nubster View Post
    I read that alot of folks use chainsaw chain lube on their bike chains. They cut it with mineral spirits I think. Some do the same with motor oil and report good results. I like the chainsaw idea. A jug of that and can of spirits will keep you in bike chain lube for a lifetime.

I do have Finish Line wet lube and I don't care for it. Very sticky. I use Tri-Flow at the moment and it works well. I might try the above mentioned DIY recipe in the future to see how that works.
    I used it on my old fixed gear and it seemed to last forever but it was really messy and I'm not sure how it would work on a multispeed bike (shouldnt act any different).