Thread: Changing Pedals

AndesJack
    Nov 2009

Changing Pedals

I am replacing a pair of C-Bro’s Smarty pedals with a pair of Shimano M545’s.
    The Smarties don’t have a wrench option when loosening them. I got the one on the right side off using an allen-key 6mm. I broke this allen-key on the left one, bought a new 6mm and bent it in a way that it serves no purpose. I am sure I got the direction right by turning it clock wise (left pedal) as the other one was anti-clock wise (right pedal which came off). The pedals have been on the bike since I got it late October ‘09 around 6 rides ago. I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination but surely pedals shouldn’t be such a pain in the a… I used a lube spray (Q20) on the pedal but this had a zero effect. Any assistance/guidance in this regard will be greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    My guess is you're still turning it the wrong way. It's easy to get your directions mixed up switching from side to side.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Yeah, double check direction. It's easy to get crossed up between LH thread and accessing the back side of the pedal.

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    Left pedal turns clockwise when looking a the pedal from the left side of the bike. Easy to remember: when standing at the rear of the bike, the pedal wrenches always turn down to loosen. Hope that makes sense.

AndesJack
    Nov 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Jake21
    Left pedal turns clockwise when looking a the pedal from the left side of the bike. Easy to remember: when standing at the rear of the bike, the pedal wrenches always turn down to loosen. Hope that makes sense.
    Down towards the rear or down towards the front end of the bike? I assume its down to the rear but a confirmation of that fact will really get my hopes up, thanks for the comments.

mtbr member
    Nov 2006