mtbr member
    Jun 2009

chain rubbing frame in rear smallest cog - not enough clearance. (pictures contained

I'm still new to fixing bikes. Noticed my shifting wasn't right in the smallest cog. You can see how scraped up the frame is where the chain hits while it's in the smallest cog. I included the other side of the spindle. You can see in the last picture how the smallest chain ring barely squeezes on.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    I'd be interested in seeing a picture of the freehub without the cassette on. My first thought is that there is a spacer on the freehub (behind the cassette) and you might remove it.

cyberbully
    yes, i'd think you need to get the axle spaced correctly...are your brakes rubbing on the non drive side ? what hub is it ?
    ...a truly skeptical position would be a very uncertain one.
    -Rupert Sheldrake

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    veulta team sl wheels and vuelta hub.

I took the cassette off, no spacer. the largest 4 chainrings of the cassette come in one piece, so kind of impossible to misplace spacer there.

It's funny you mention the brake, I bought hte bike used. In order to get the brakes to fit proper, I added washers to between caliper and frame (moving brakes towards center axel). Maybe the washer just compensated for a wheel not assemble correctly in first place?

cyberbully
    definitely the axle spacing, i'll hazard another guess and say your wheel is not centered in the rear triangle...check by the chainstay yoke, it will be slightly to the drive side...check for a schematic of the hub online, if not you can macguyver it and see if there are any spacers that can be moved over to the other side to give you an even amount of axle sticking out on both sides of the hub: if your up to taking it apart, otherwise its lbs time...
    ...a truly skeptical position would be a very uncertain one.
    -Rupert Sheldrake

mtbr member
    Nov 2010