k_z
    mtbr member
    Jul 2012

Cassette removal tool that clears 10 mm thru axle caps

Need some help - built myself brand new wheel with Hope 2 pro evo hub configured for 10mm thru axle (plan to use DT RWS skewer ). Where I ended up in trouble is when started to install cassette - tool I've been using for last 10 years does not clear then end cap, do I can't torque the lock ring properly (just got couple of threads) nor I cam remove it now - ID of the tool is bit too small. Anybody knows a tool that is going to work here ?

Tried to remove the end cap from the hub but note it doesn't clear the lockring....

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk 4

Xtreme Lounger
    I just use the standard Park FR-5. Works fine on my DT Swiss 240s hub with 10mm RWS caps.

Elitest thrill junkie
    I think I've used that on every bike I've ever owned, including 3 with 12mm rear thru-axles.
    "It's only when you stand over it, you know, when you physically stand over the bike, that then you say 'hey, I don't have much stand over height', you know"-T. Ellsworth

You're turning black metallic.

k_z
    mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    Thanks, will go get one from LBS. No clue what mine was but not a Park Tool.

Trail Tire TV on blogger
    ya, the park is fine, but the Hope hub you can just pop the end cap out and install the cassette with your existing then pop the end cap back it... no new tool needed.
    Going to try and bring Trail Tire TV back. go take a look... http://trailtiretv.blogspot.com/

k_z
    mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by thomllama View Post
    ya, the park is fine, but the Hope hub you can just pop the end cap out and install the cassette with your existing then pop the end cap back it... no new tool needed.
    Tried that - with lock ring somewhat installed - could not get the end cap through the lock ring - should it easily go through it ?

Trail Tire TV on blogger
    Quote Originally Posted by k_z View Post