mtbr member
    Sep 2008

Bike School Vs. Barnett Bicycle Institute

Has anyone attend either of these schools? Can you tell me a little about them?
    I've been a professional wrench for a year and my boss would like me to get a certification.
    Both look good. I'm wondering which has the better program.

mtbr member
    Hi MENABIKES

Did you get any answers to thes post?
    Did you take a desition about which school attend?

I am in the same position as you are any clue will be helpfull
    In my workshop, dirty hands is a state of mind

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

I've been to Barnett and....

enjoyed it very much. It's fast paced so expect to be kept busy. I much prefer their style of teaching to other schools or seminars that I've been to (most not bike related though). You will rarely spend more than 15 to 20 minutes in your seat being lectured, and most seat time involves physical demonstration. After that you are at the work bench doing hands on. The instructors are very professional and have worked in the industry as mechanics so they know what works and what doesn't. The biggest thing with the Barnett system is just that. It is a systematic approach to bicycle mehanics. Every thing you learn is geared toward producing consistant and repeatable results no matter what brand of components (or what compontent) you are working with. So each ajdustment etc. has exact steps that they take you through that are designed to give the same results consistantly every time. If the results aren't correct then there is something wrong with the component or system, or you missed a step.

Anyway, I highly recommend Barnett's. I got more out of that course than any course that I've ever taken on any subject. Fun relaxed atmosphere and a great bunch of people on staff.