burnedthetoast
    Oct 2009

Best Beginner tool kit for $50?

I'm looking to get someone else a really basic set of tools for $50 or so (so not Park). I have a basic set I got for ~$40 10-12 years ago and I still use a couple of the things from it pretty regularly.

Anyone have recommendations for the best bang for the buck? Anything you'd stay away from?
    Ride to Work, Work to Live, Live to Ride
    Blog: Daddy Rides Bikes

mtbr member
    Anything around $50 is going to be like this Sette kit on pricepoint.com

Sette ST-21 Tool Kit

It's going to have all of your basic tools in it, nothing special, but will get the job done for the basic maintenance/beginner mechanic. It shows that it's on sale right now, too. I have no personal experience with Sette or similar tool kits, but I've heard good things about them from coworkers and customers.

For basic maintenance I would also suggest these:

Your LBS should have the socket 3-way for only a couple bucks. I'd suggest going with a Park or similar quality hex 3-way, though. I use these tools at work and at home all the time.
    Mountain bikers who don't road ride have no legs...
    Road riders who don't mountain bike have no soul...

Wanderer
    Yup, get that Sette toolkit.

Years ago I got a similar one from Nashbar I believe and still have most of the original tools in my bike toolbox along with all the other misc stuff I have added to it thru the years.

AZ
    banned
    Buy specific tools as the need arises. 3 way hex wrench, chain breaker, chain whip, cassette lock ring tool etc. That way you don't get saddled down with tools you don't need and can spread the cost over several purchases. Also have a look at the "Homemade tools" thread that is in here somewhere.

mtbr member
    I was going to mention that, AZ, but he mentioned getting it for someone, which I was assuming as a Christmas gift.
    Mountain bikers who don't road ride have no legs...
    Road riders who don't mountain bike have no soul...