Thread: racer x 29er

JDOM for life

racer x 29er

hey guys,

i pulled the trigger on a racer x 29'ers in chainlove but i don't know what build to put on it. any suggestions? i hate impulse buying but the deal was really worth it.... i think.... i'm 5'10 178 lbs w/o gear.

mtbr member
    Congrats! You're going to love it. I was really tempted by those deals too. What did you end up paying?

I'm no expert on building up a bike so I'll leave most of the suggestions to others.... but I think I would go with a Fox F29 100 fork and some Stans 355 wheels. I really liked the new Elixir brakes I tried at I-bike and if the Elixir R are nearly as good as the CRs, PricePoint has them at $125 per wheel.

I like XT or X9 drive train stuff. I haven't loved the RF cranks. It seems the bearing wear out fast. I've been on the same XT BB for 7 years on my HH100x.

Have fun.
    I will cause thee to ride upon the high places of the earth...
    Isaiah 58:14

www.stuckinthespokes.com

JDOM for life
    I ended up paying 975 including shipping. Not a bad deal considering it's a brand new Titus.

Why the 100mm fork and not the 80? Isn't the rx 29er designed for an 80mm fork?

I haven't tried the elixirs yet. I should do so. But I'm currently inlvove with my Formula k24s. but for $125/wheel, that is not a bad deal again.

What rotor size should i get? are 4 inches on both wheel enough?

what are the overall weight savings going with an XT groupset compared to an XTR groupset?

Thanks KRob for your inputs! very much appreciated!

BB

Quote Originally Posted by KRob
    Congrats! You're going to love it. I was really tempted by those deals too. What did you end up paying?

I'm no expert on building up a bike so I'll leave most of the suggestions to others.... but I think I would go with a Fox F29 100 fork and some Stans 355 wheels. I really liked the new Elixir brakes I tried at I-bike and if the Elixir R are nearly as good as the CRs, PricePoint has them at $125 per wheel.