mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Quasi Moto rear shock options

I have been riding a medium Quasi Moto for a few years with a Titus installed Manitou Swinger 4-way air. When I first received the bike from Titus, the shock chamber was mounted so that the valve stem was oriented up. I soon found that with the shock mounted in this fashion, the valve stem had a tendancy to hit the rocker arm as the shock reached full compression.

After I noticed the problem, I took the bike back to the shop and asked for a recommendation. The shops remedy was to remove the shock, twist the shock body 180 degrees, and remount the shock (valve stem now pointed down). While this resolved the clearance issue, it placed the valve stem in a position where it is nearly impossible to connect a shock pump. After two years of dealing with this issue, I am looking for another solution.

Has anyone else on this board run into a similar issue? If so, I would appreciate any input on alternate solutions that have been used. One solution that I am considering is to replace the Swinger 4-way with something like the FOX DHX 5.0 Coil. Has anybody had any experience with this shock, and does anyone know if it is possible to mount one on a Quasi? I plan on calling Titus next week, but don't know if they keep up on discontinued frame models.

I would appreciate any help that this board could offer.

mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    I would be interested in this as well, as I would like to knock a bit of weight off mine, as at present its pretty heavy, so has anyone tried one with a Fox RP3 or DHX Air, and does anyone know if a 2.25 length stroke will work in a q Quasi frame or will it cause metal to hit metal?

in the getto
    I've ran both a DHX Air and the RP3 on my Quasi. The DHX Air is definitely the better match with the 5.9in. travel Quasi. The RP3 would pack up and sometimes feel like bucking me,where the DHX just eats everythig up and is super tunable.Also it's easy to get at all the DHX Air's adjustments.