mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Newbie Titus Rider.......Need help/advice

I'm new to the mountain biking world and would like some advice/help. I picked up a Titus Racer X back in December. It has a lot of good stuff on it from what i've heard. I will post pics soon. Anyways............I have the Rock Shox Reba Team forks and Fox RP23 rear. After I ride maybe twice, the front forks feel realllllllly soft and the remote lock out doesn't work. I've had them rebuilt 2 times now. I would like to replace them with a Fox fork but I don't know which one is best suited for this bike and my riding style. I'm more of a cross country or single track rider. Nothing real hard core or anything. Any help and assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Matt

The Cheater
    I use the Fox F32 100mm RLC, but you can use the RL version just fine. It's the perfect complement to the racing character of the bike. My buddy use Rockshox Reba and he's doing ok as well. We ride single and fast furious winding track as well as rocky descends.
    Titux X Carbon 2010 race 9.93kg
    Titux X 2009 "Deore 2012" training 11.55kg

mtbr member
    Not real familiar with the racer x, I've got an EG, but it looks like it's built around a 100mm fork (unless it's a small - 80mm). I am a fan of Fox forks, always had good results with 'em. Sounds like you want to stick with one of their 32mm stanchion models, and if you want lock out, just make sure the model has an L in its model description ie. 32 Float RLC: R=rebound adjustable, L= lock out, C= compression adjustable.

I've got a 32 Float RLC 140 on my Intense 5.5, it's more of a XC/trail bike than my EG, which has a 36 Talus RC 160. Sometimes I miss not having the lock out on the EG, and really never use the Talus adjustable travel feature, so I really wouldn't recommend a Talus for XC type riding.

Jamin, Applesause, No?
    What kind of air pressure are you running in the reba on the Positive and Negative chambers? What year is your reba?