screamer

New Motolite: first (lengthy!) report

So after lurking here for months on end, I can finally and legitimately come out of the shadows and show off my spankin' new Motolite. You've all helped me out a lot with info & inspiration, and I couldn't be happier with my choice. So thanks for that. Now, on to the good stuff....

When I picked up the frame from my LBS (Roaring Mouse here in SF, whom I can't recommend enough; they are GREAT to deal with) after a six week wait, the first impression was that this is one of the most carefully thought out bikes I have ever seen. The welding is absolutely first rate, the tube forming is impeccably designed, and just holding the frame (OK, "fondling" is probably more accurate) is an awe-inspiring experience. I do design for a living (buildings, not bikes), and the hallmark of quality is a product that immediately tells you how it performs at first glance. The Motolite definitely fits this category. On the superficial side, the grey is VERY dark, almost black. Mmmmm.... black....

After the fastest, and probably most trouble-free, build in history, I hit the trails. Disclaimer: my first time out I was feeling pretty crappy with a head cold, and if it hadn't been for this sexy new toy I probably would have just wussed out on the couch watching the World Cup. I'd set up the rear with the recommended sag (which was actually about 20psi below what Fox recommended for my weight???), and on the first fire road climb I could tell already I needed a bit more pressure given a couple of pedal strikes. So that put me at about 15-20% sag; weird. Even with my snot-filled head though, I was climbing like a rocket. I hit a couple of steep & loose short cuts, and scooted up them no problem. Totally incredible! The front end felt a lot taller than what I was used to (the Rev was set at 130mm max), but wasn't lifting up at all. Cool.