mtbr member
    Aug 2012

New El Guapo w/66 RC3 Evo Ti sizing issue

Hi everyone -

So I'm actually not sure where I should have posted this thread (under "frame building" or "forks/suspension" or "general discussion"), but I figured since I'm building the EG I'd throw it under the Titus forum and if a mod would like to move it then that's fine with me.

I've been working on my v3 EG (size L) for about 2 months now, and have gotten to my steerer tube cut task. Only problem is, this seems to be a multi-part measurement and assessment job. I have a 2013 Marzocchi 66 RC3 Evo Ti (180mm) with a CK NoThread Set. Pretty much everything I can find online tells me to "use my old stem and fork as a starting point for where to cut my new steerer tube." Only thing is, I don't have another bike any longer, so no point of reference available . It seems like in order to cut my steer tube in the right place, I need to know the height of my stem, the amount of spacers, the length of my stem, and the rise/angle of my handlebars relative to my own personal height and stretch. This seems like a crazy amount of calculations, but is that the right frame of mind on this? I obviously can't sit on the bike to "test" these measurements out because the fork isn't cut, and, thus, not stable to sit on.

Anyone maybe have a pointer or two on this step? I'm tempted to just go to the LBS so I can get completely fitted correctly, and just buy my stem from them to give them some business.

TIA for any ideas or advice at all!! It is very much appreciated.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    i dunno about calculation that can give a accurate to how u feels on the bike.

but this is what i do... i start with a 50mm stem and play with 25mm spacer top and bottom of the stem. from there, i do test rides and tweak around until i feel right. once that i feel comfortable after a few rides... if the steerer tube is still too long... i cut it again.