mtbr member
    Jul 2007

El Guapo owners, can you help me out? Nomad > El G

Should I move from a Nomad to an El Guapo?

I've been mulling over a bike change for a few months. I've got a MotoLite and a gen 1.5 Nomad. I had considered ditching both bikes and getting the 5 Spot fitted with an air fork and trying to get a lightweight build at around 28/29 lb. I have not made up my mind though.

I have run the ML with a 120/130/140mm fork to try and slacken out the front end. I like the 140mm on it but the BB gets pretty high. I'll probably bring it back down to 120mm or 130mm and possibly add an angle adjust headset. The last few rides I had on the ML seemed to have changed my mind about getting rid of it. I keep liking that bike.

On the other hand I have the Nomad for bigger days. Overall I like the geometry of the Nomad, a little short in the top tube but not that bad. What I initially fell in love with about this bike was its ability to simply plow through whatever I wanted. I'm running a pushed Float R and a coil Lyrik on it. This is my first AM bike and the ability to hold a line when the trail gets really choppy is great. However, I'm not a big-hit rider and don't take drops more than a few feet high - I guess I'm getting older now. The main thing about the Nomad that I am trying to move away from is its tendency to feel sluggish on singletrack - not pedaling characteristics but more sluggish in its handling. It is more bike than I need, for sure, but I think it is more than just the amount of travel. I do like to be able to take any line I want when the mood hits me. But, the more I switch back and forth between the ML and the Nomad the more cumbersome the Nomad feels. I get it, the Nomad is designed to ride this way but that is what I'm looking to make a change from.