mtbr member
    Jul 2007

EG v2, 150 fork to 160 fork

I have been running a 150 Sektor on my v2 EG since I built it up a few months back. I was floored at how well the bike climbed... just floored. I could clear stuff that I was never able to in the past. Was running it with the smoothie mixer headset and the HTA came in right about 68 deg according to a few different phone apps.

Today I tossed on a Lyrik. I've been missing my Lyrik ever since I sold off the Nomad to buy the EG. Would've kept it but it had a 1.5 steer. Anyway, went out on a shake down ride today to check everything out. Being about 200 lb RTR I am able to tell a fairly significant difference in stiffness between the Sektor and the Lyrik. The bigger fork just holds a line so much better, especially when it want to be deflected from off-camber rocks and roots.

Anyway, when it came to the really steep climbs with a good amount of chunk in them I was not thrilled. I couldn't believe that such a small difference in a2c would cause the front to wander more and cause trouble keeping the front end planted. I actually had to bail on one climb cuz the front just kept popping no matter what I tried.

Not sure what I'll do. Am I nuts for thinking about going back to the Sektor?

mtbr member
    Dropping 1-2cm on the bar height assuming you still have spacers beneath stem and or shortening your overall reach slightly from bar to saddle.. can be a significant change like the A_C difference.

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    hey anvil, thanks for hopping in. I did space the stem at the stack height as it was with the Sektor. After my post I dropped another 5mm spacer and moved it on top of the stem. I also dropped the nose of the saddle slightly due to the decreased STA. I'll see if I can slide the saddle a few mm forward.