ಠ_ಠ

Caution;  Merge;  Workers Ahead! Bearings on MotoLite

Had a rough one yesterday.

I had a complete set of replacement bearings sitting in my toolbox from years ago. This weekend I decided to go ahead and replace all my bearings whether they needed it or not. Although I've been riding my ML since 2005, I live in sunny California, and figured they were probably fine. Sure enough, the rocker pivots were toast - all of them severly pitted or outright frozen. Replacing these was actually pretty easy.

Then I moved on to the main pivot bearings. Okay, so I've never done this before, but I was working with a friend that had; albeit on a different frame. That gave me the confidence to try this, but it was an absolute disaster. I ended up gouging the crap out of the main pivot bores since the old bearings (which were fine by the way) were in there so damn tightly. I now realize I should have soaked everything in WD-40 prior, and been a little less ham-fisted with the hammer/pin. I did drift pin (12, 3, 6, 9), but not as carefully as I should have. Anyway, I got them out eventually, used a ultra-fine rat-tail file to mitigate the burrs I created, and then seated the new bearings. I ended up having to put the new bearings in the freezer to get them to go in flush - nice trick if you haven't tried it. Despite being new and smooth, once in the frame the bearings felt a little notchy. I'm guessing the pressure on the races causes this - right? After hours of trying and a nice sunburn to show for my efforts, I got all four new bearings in... ummm I mean three new bearings and an old one since I blew one of the new ones up when I had to tap it out because I forgot to replace the aluminum spacer .