Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2014

What AM Frame for Texas?

What's going on guys, I'm hoping to get some help choosing an AM frame for a build I'm looking to here at the end of summer. I'm from DFW but I'll be moving to San Marcos here soon for the last year or so of university so I'll be riding around San Marcos / Austin pretty frequently

Since I'm a broke university student and this will be my main bike I'm looking to build a do it all bike for around $1500 - $2000 but I'd like to stay closer to the $1500 side of things, I was thinking an AM hardtail would fit the bill?

I'll be using the bike mostly for XC 95% of the time but I'd also like to make some trips out to freeride 512 to ride some bike park on the weekends. I was looking at building the following frames but I'm pretty damn indecisive when it comes to a big purchases

Ragley Blue Pig
    Ragley Piglet
    Transition TransAM (26 or 650b)
    Cotic BFE / Cotic Soul (650b)
    Bird Cycleworks Zero 650b (Assuming I can get my hands on one)

What do you guys think would be best for the type of riding I'm looking to do? I'm open to other bike suggestions as well and buying components / a bike used is something I'm definitely open to.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I'm in Austin and I've got a Ragley Blue Pig. This thing is burley as hell and can handle more than I can. There are two drawbacks to it. One is weight. I'm not a weight weenie, but it's a steel hardtail that weighs around 30 lbs with an average and not particularly heavy build. I could get rid of the dropper, but I use it too much and would miss it. The weight is an acceptable trade off to me. The second drawback is a 66.5 degree head angle. The front end wanders and wants to lift on climbs. That can be mitigated by leaning a little more over the bars, but I spin out a bit more as a result of the weight shift.