mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Cameron Park (Waco) Tire Recommendations?

I've been riding Cameron Park 3-4 times a week for a few months now since moving up in the fall for work. My back stock tire on my Rockhopper was getting a little bald, plus I was doing a lot of slipping going up some of those hills, and then I literally cut it on some rocks the other day. Looking at it today, I noticed I had 5 or 6 more gashes in them. Needless to say, I'm shopping for a new tire. I was looking at Kenda Nevegals but wasn't sure if they're maybe TOO knobby for the hardpack stuff. The main thing is I need a better climbing tire and better traction on the rear too so I'm not locking up on the steep downhill sections. Any recommendations?

mtbr member
    No tire will keep you from locking up the rear on a steep downhill. It's a weight distribution thing, not a tread pattern thing. That's what the front brake is for. Seriously, use more front brake. Skidding damages the trail, does little to slow you down and even less gain control. Try using around 70/30 front/rear when it comes to braking power.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    I thought small blocks worked good when I've ridden there. Use the front brake to avoid skidding.

mtbr member
    May 2011

Cameron Park (Waco) Tire Recommendations?

What others said. For the tire replacement, I used a Crossmark rear (Ignitor front) on my SS with no issues when preriding/racing earlier this year.

mtbr member
    May 2009
    The Maxxis Ardent is a good rear tire for Cameron Park. I'm using a Michelin Wild Grip'r on the rear now & it does well biting in on the climbs. I like a 2.3 width tire for the front & 2.25 in the rear. I haven't ridden anything with small knobbies but it seems like they'd loose grip when the trails turn to powder (they're starting to now).

The couple of bikes I've seen with Nevegals, the tire looks HUGE. If I were to run one, I'd stick it on the front with a smaller tire on the rear.