mtbr member

Anyone in the DFW area interested in Tutoring/Riding one on one with a newbie?

I originally posted this in the Beginner's Corner Thread but it seems I might have better luck posting for people in the area I am actually located! Dallas/Fort Worth Area. More specifically, Arlington, Texas.

I feel really silly writing this!I am very new to the sport of Mountain Biking. I wanted to get into it to have a fun, healthy hobby and it also seemed exciting. I really like the idea of being able to travel to different courses and learning them and meeting new people in the biking community. BUT I am just not there yet. . The first dirt trail I went out on was this weekend at River Legacy Park. I was enjoying getting used to riding on a non paved trail. I quickly came to some jumps and groups of more experienced riders and long story short, I siked myself out. I am not afraid of eventually climbing or descending, jumping or anything else but I honestly need to build up to it. I felt silly staying behind but I still need help even switching gears correctly.I know there will be oppurtunity for injuries and I am game for all that but I felt jumping head first into something that extreme would ...well lead me to having a broken neck.
    I want to enjoy this and make it a life long love. I know there are group clinics that I can attend in a month or so but I am having a bit of anxiety with the group thing.Just looking for a friendly, patient person willing to meet up and ride with to help me get the hang of this. I have been taking it out trying to just ride around and getting a feel for it but really want to know some of the technical stuff and also to get over the fear of doing bigger and better things.

Please help! Even if you only wish to offer tips, I am all ears.

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Ambear; 03-19-2013 at 02:23 PM.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Ambear View Post