mtbr member

Rear Tandem Hub Recommendation Inquiry

Hello Mtbr tandem enthusiasts!

I've been to the site on and off for many years, but couldn't find my old registration info, so I re-registered today. I'm cross posting here on the recommendation from a user at BikeForums.net. I didn't realize there was a dedicated mountain tandem forum here, so I'm glad I got my butt over here! This is a long post, so forgive me if it's "TLDNR."

Anyway, I'm looking for advice on current rear cassette hubs that can take high torque loads tandems produce. So far, I've narrowed it down to a few: Chris King (a perennial favorite), Phil Wood, DT/Swiss or another option (Edco, Hadley, etc.). I did peruse this site for hub failure issues and read up a bit, mostly on the DT failures & fixes.

Anyway, here's my somewhat long-winded post about my history with rear tandem hub failure:

Dear Forum,
    I've enjoyed perusing your website over the years. Thanks for the valuable information.

I'm a wheel builder and former bike industry guy. I'm also a road and mtn. tandem enthusiast. I've attempted Moab's Slickrock Trail twice on the mtn. tandem, both times destroying rear cassette bodies and/or hubs. We're a decent-sized couple, but not THAT big, coming in at a combined weight of 330 lbs. Either way, I don't plan on ever attempting Slickrock again - I just don't think ANY hub can withstand tandem torque on such steep, 100% traction climbs! (Interestingly, the Union Fröndenberg Hügi hub (circa 1993) on our road tandem has survived 20 years with nary a skip and still runs smooth as silk - albeit never trying Slickrock.)