mtbr member
    Jun 2012

My Rig and Story

So I am new to this tandem forum and wanted to share my story and rig. I have always wanted a mtb tandem for the wife and I but she is not so much on board with that. She is also taller than me which might have made things interesting. Given the cost of a quality tandem I kindof let that go. Recently we were looking on craigslist for stuff and a tandem popped up. I though it was a true mtb tandem but it turns out I was a little off. Regardless I wound up finally going to see it, as the biggest draw was that it would possibly work for me to take out my kids who are 5 and 7. We got to see it and decided we wanted it. The seller wanted 550 at first, but had come down to 450. I then offered 400 and he took it. He then explained that he had purchased the tandem for he and his daughter to ride after his wife had died of cancer. I wanted to just hand him the keys to my land rover d90 to apologize for even beating him down. But instead I have decided to continue the tradition and use this tandem to enjoy quality time with my sons and pay it forward. Here is a pic.

Maybe a fork. (with as little travel as possible to not offset geometry).
    Definitely some hydro rim brakes.
    Maybe some wheels.
    Upgrade when it breaks.
    Last edited by Rmabus; 06-28-2012 at 07:38 AM.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Nice bike. We have a Burley Duex (road tandem) that started us on our tandem adventure. Good bike, if a bit flexy. Your bike is a totally different design (and material), and with your lighter stokers it should do everything you want it to.

PMK
    mtbr member
    Agree with Okayfine, with light stokers, a flexy frame is less important. Ride the wheels off it.