mtbr member
    Jan 2015

Troll or World Troller Vs. ECR and other HD touring frames?

I am new to bike touring and I am no bike gear head, which is why I want your advice. I am planning a touring trip in South America next winter and I wanted to get some thoughts on frames, parts any builds you can suggest I check out.

Frame:
    Right now, my top frame choice is the Troll. But I do like the idea of the larger wheel size of the ECR. Is it really that hard to find parts for them in other countries?

And I gather that the world troller is only worth it is you want to use a bike case for airports? Is it worth it?

Any other non Surly frames to recommend? I'm more familiar with the surlys and have heard from friends and loads of internet people that they love their bikes. What else will take a beating and allow so many build options, plus be comfortable on longer hauls?

Other parts:
    This is going to be where I need the most help. After some research I really want to go with the rolhoff speed hub. other than that I'm not set on anything yet. let me know what is dependable and the best bang for my buck.

Share any good build links please.
    Thanks,
    Nick

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by TripL View Post
    I am new to bike touring and I am no bike gear head, which is why I want your advice. I am planning a touring trip in South America next winter and I wanted to get some thoughts on frames, parts any builds you can suggest I check out.

Frame:
    Right now, my top frame choice is the Troll. But I do like the idea of the larger wheel size of the ECR. Is it really that hard to find parts for them in other countries?

And I gather that the world troller is only worth it is you want to use a bike case for airports? Is it worth it?