Mmmm Rocks Good
    Feb 2005

Re-Powder coating a Surly

I'm contemplating re-powder coating my Krampus as it is a bit beat up and I see so many Green Krampii's that I am thinking I may go to a different color? I work at a place that does powder coating but we do high temp powder coating using ovens that are up at 385-400 degrees. My concern is losing the temper in the chromoly steel if that is even a concern? I can get a low temp powder but it is not as durable? Anybody know of any issues w/the higher temps affecting the temper of the frame? Thanks!
    Big, strong, rock crushing, IPA drinking, big hit bike rider!

mtbr member
    I'm not an expert but I can't imagine those kinds of temperatures will effect cro-moly steel in any way.

mtbr member
    I've no clue of the effects on the frame but the people who perform the coating you work with should have the answer, if not then seek an outside source for specific info.

mtbr member
    Heat treating and annealing processes for 4130 happen at temperatures ranging between 900 and 1700 degrees F. Tempering it happens between 750 and 1000 degrees so it's unlikely that a powder coat oven is going to harm the frame or even change its characteristics.

I've got my Redline cruiser frame and fork at the powder coater right now and those are a mix of CrMo and high-tensile steel. No fear.
    Greg

2014 Haro FLC 29 Comp
    2009 Red Line MX-24
    1980 Red Line Pro-Line old-school cool

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by 80Pro-Line View Post
    Heat treating and annealing processes for 4130 happen at temperatures ranging between 900 and 1700 degrees F. Tempering it happens between 750 and 1000 degrees so it's unlikely that a powder coat oven is going to harm the frame or even change its characteristics.

I've got my Redline cruiser frame and fork at the powder coater right now and those are a mix of CrMo and high-tensile steel. No fear.
    Thanks!
    That is some good info to know