mtbr member
    May 2014

Possibly Cross Check buy from Pawn Shop -- Need advice!

Hi All,

I'm new to road bikes but have mountain biked and was looking to get into road biking to do it with a friend. After doing some research I liked the versatility of the Cross Check better for doing commuting, trails and roads. I'm leaving this thread b/c I'm seriously considering the bike and not sure what to do.

I saw the ad online, called, and found out was from a local pawn shop. I went in and he did not know the year but said it was newer and the black paint did look nice and there were mid-leg eyelets for front racks. Assuming over '10.

The size sticker was peeled off so he had a bike shop evaluate it as 56cm. It was the non - SS geared. Had more than one cog.

So I rode it and noticed in some gears the chain was slipping and looked down and noticed the crankset (the large metal thing the crankarm is attached to) was slightly bent and not totally straight.

He was asking 750.00 for it.

Questions are -- Is this a good deal... Should I dicker? He was not forthright in condition of crankset in add. Considering the crankset would need to be replaced.. not sure if labor and part would offset the 'good' deal.

How much would you ask? Should I wait and get a new one?

Also regarding size, I'm 5 11" 32-33 inseam. The stretch to the hoops and to the brakes was a little longish. There is one shop who has the only cross check in a 54cm in the whole valley.

Would I be better off in a 54cm or can I adjust the 56 to better suit the less crouched down feel. Reading.. the 56 sounds more my fit.

Thanks guys (and gals)!

mtbr member
    Jan 2008