Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

Cross Check sizing

Hello,

I'm currently thinking about building a Cross Check.
    Main uses are going to be ocasional touring, commuting, trails and general exploring.

I am an air under 6'1 tall (184cm) with a 33" (85cm) inseam. I am going to use my favourite stem lenght, 90mm, with Salsa Cowbell handlebars.

Which size is recommended? 56 or 58cm? I fear that the 56cm headtube is a little short and that the 58cm standover is a little too tall on singletrack.
    Any help and shared experiences woudl be greattly apreciated.

By the way, if I go ahead, this is going to be my first time building canti brakes, so I am a total noob with them. Are the cable stops included with the frame?

Thanks

PS: for reference, I ride a 20" Pugsley right now, and like the fit

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    hello Ze_Zaskar,

i'm 183cm tall with 89cm inseam and ride the 56 cc frame with a 90mm stem and drop bars.
    that works fine for me because i use it as a touring bike and don't like to be stetched out that much. the only thing that is not perfect is the toe overlap with 40c tires. but i don't think that would make a big difference with the 58 frame.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Im the exact same dimensions as you, 6,1 33 inseam. I was waffling between a 58 and a 60. I choose the 60 and paired it with a 90mm stem and 46cm cowbells. It was a tiny bit too long for me but the standover was awesome, even on mild singletrack. I ended up selling this bike for soemthing else. If I were to do it over again, I would choose a 58 instead.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Cross Check sizing-cc.jpg  

Salsa El Mariachi SS
    Salsa Vaya
    Lurch Fatbike

mtbr member