mtbr member
    Aug 2011

Cross Check Drop Out Adjusters??

I'm new to Surly and off-road...I'm building up a single speed for trail riding...

When I received the CC frame they came with adjuster screws not installed...I have absolutely no idea...

a) What they are for...and

b) How to install them...(they come with a spring? - where does that go...inside or outside?)

In short, I'm completely clueless...so if someone could take that time to fill me in...I'd appreciate it...

Thanks!

Did I catch a niner?
    If you look on the back of the dropout (frame side not open ended side) you should see a hole, I think you can take it from there.
    Mr. Krabs: Is it true, Squidward? Is it hilarious?
    https://www.dollarshaveclub.com/ref/...A0CC/s/tx/cx/1

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    back to front: knurled nut, dropout, spring, screw.

You have to install the screw first, then add the knurled nut to the end of it once it's through the dropout. They don't work like tensioners, if that's your intent. They're to keep the wheel from sliding backwards...

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Thanks! That helps.

I just found it odd to put the rounded nut (that screws onto the end of the screw) on the outside of the dropout...given that it's the end you'd turn for adjustment...wouldn't it turn itself off the end of the screw when you turned the adjuster in or out?...

I also don't understand the function of the spring......if any.

I'm sure I'm missing something.

mtbr member
    Dec 2005