I do what I want

Anyone ever tried to call Surly Bikes Intergalatic HQ

Ive been trying to call for about a week now and no one ever picks up, just keeps going on with that stupid recording about "reaching surly bikes intergalatic HQ". I sent an email, never got a response back. Maybe you guys can help

My question/issue: I recently purchases KM from my LBS and when I picked it up I inquired about using Frame Saver on the frame per Surly info on site. The LBS sales guy told me "nah, surly takes care of that, I wouldnt worry about it, most big bike brands doing steel nowadays already take care of that". Now Im no engineer, chemist or big bike mfg, but when i look inside the tubes on the KM I dont see any sort of treatment, just looks like bare steel to me. Im thinking I'd just be better off treating, but have any of you guys heard of surly treating the inside of the frames?
    Guy.Ford

I'm not really an @sshole, I just act like one online.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    I have a few Surlys, and I treat them all when building.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    No, they don't. The Information Hole | Surly Bikes

Their sister company, All-City does ED coating on some of their frames, but not all. No Surlys are, unless I'm mistaken.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Try emailing them, I've always received a response within 4 hours or so.

That said, I rode my KM on salty roads for two winters in college and those tubes were pristine when I disassembled it last year. I really wouldn't stress it. In the spring, pull the BB and apply new plumbers tape and liberal grease.

mtbr member
    ED coating is relatively rare in the steel industry. I have a number of stock and custom steel frames and none of them have ever come treated by default.

BMX companies are all over it, but not so much otherwise.

I think your LBS is misinformed.

Just buy a can and do it yourself. It costs only a couple dollars, and gives you a lot of piece of mind.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007