Hi fellow MTBR members. Sorry for the very wordy post, but I wanted to lay out all the details in advance in case anything that I consider non-relevant is the root cause of the problem with my fork.

First I would like to say that I am a fairly skilled bike tech and have several years of bike shop experience in addition to working on my own bikes. I was out on a ride recently and was hoping to improve the settings on my Lyrik RC2DH. Before I could even get to the trails I wanted to use as a testing loop to dial the damping, I went off a small (2', maybe 3') drop to a steep transition, not to flat. I noticed that the bike came down really hard, the front fork had bottomed. I looked at the o-ring and it was sitting just above the 30% sag indicator on the right stanchion (maybe 40% of total travel). I pulled the front brake and compressed the fork which had a noticeable hard stop at that point in the travel. Giving up on my ride for the day, hoping not to do any further damage to the internals I went home and took things apart.

The first thing I noticed was that when I deflated the air chamber, the fork compressed to about 20% sag (never noted exact amount). After removing the top caps and knocking the bolts loose on the lowers I unscrewed the air side bolt and there was a large pop, with oil spraying all over the place, so there was some sort of air leakage from the upper to lower chamber in the fork (possibly time for new o-rings?).

Leaving the left side to drain into a pan, I drained the right side lowers. The oil was a little murky but not too bad. Note, I have maybe 15 days of riding on the fork since I last rebuilt it. Once it had drained I flipped it over to pour out the oil in the top side of the rebound and a good amount of oil started draining out of the left leg (despite it sitting for around 20 minutes).