mtbr member
    May 2004

I don't trust SRAM Guide R Brakes

Brand new bike - total rear brake lever lockup going downhill on first ride.
    Yes, shop said knew what it was right away and fixed it, BUT - I've been riding Mtn Bikes since 1998, I have NEVER experienced this with any brakes ever. I don't trust this.

YES, the issues I've read may be "statistically insignificant" and the brakes may be perfectly fine, but I need confidence/WE need confidence in our equipment - every piece of it.

SO, brand new bike, I've asked shop to see if SRAM will warranty these brakes, but I also put my order in for a new set of Shimano XT brakes, that *maybe don't have the perfect modulation, etc that the Guides are supposed to have, but the Shimanos DO have a good reputation for reliability.

Overall the whole thing is just damn wrong that I have to shell out - probably when it's all said and done, and extra $400 after I just bought a brand new bike - BUT - solid piece of mind so I can enjoy my riding and push my riding to the limit and keep progressing - is important to me - and the money is potentially way less than the cost of injury due to brake failure.

Total rear brake lever lockup?????
    And I read on the "Brake" forum here on Mtbr that this happened to someone else with the Guide R brakes but in his case the Front brake locked up - the brake reach adjuster somehow locked the front brake and threw him over the bars - he said he was very lucky that Sagebrush broke his fall. What if that had happened at high speeds, like floating over rock garden at high speed, or "skiing" down super steep rocky chute, or something like that?

Sorry but SRAM - I will do my best to never use your brakes again.
    Sound of Tires on Dirt: Sole Music
    Shredding with Good Comrades: Soul Music

mtbr member
    Shouldn't be using front brake at high speed in gnar... get what you deserve, if you do o_0

Bummer about brakes

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk