mtbr member

Yet More E150 Fork ?'s

I have an 08 SL comp and I am wondering what the wear in time for the fork is because I am getting terrible stiction when I ride. Also I seem to be getting this rattle type noise coming from the front end when I am on rough terrain. At 3200 the bike shouldnt sound like a huffy coming down the trail. Could this be due to a loose headet and if so how do I tighten it on these forks. Im not a newbie just a newbie to DC forks so any help would be appreciated....Im 200 pounds and I have to run about 10 to 15 lbs less than recomended to get 37.5 to 40mm of sag on the fork. Messed with the spike valve and was set at 50 psi so I pumped it up to 70 to see if that would help but to no avail...is the a better setting for the spike valve??

mtbr member

Sorry mate, but.....

Darkslide,

It isn't anything that you could have improved and the forks certainly won't "break-in" - Welcome to the well attended club of disgruntled Enduro SL owners........This is what almost all of us have been living with

I have just cleaned my 07 SL Pro in order to take back to bike shop into the New Year with yet more front & rear suspension problems (already had one shock and fork cartridges previously fitted and the quality of suspension has never been acceptable even with these); the bike handles like a trampoline at the back and feels dead at the front......In fact, any suspension available at all at the front-end for normal trail riding (ie, anything other than really big hits) is provided entirely by my arms & body, which feel like I've been operating a road-repairer's pneumatic drill after about 8 miles riding

Thank goodness I still had my trusty Ellsworth Joker to see me through the Christmas & New Year break; it might be a few years old and heavy, but still out-plays the Enduro SL I bought to replace it!!

I suggest that you too book your bike in with your bike shop, so that they can fit some more exactly the same, un-design-improved replacement parts