mtbr member

Whats your air pressure in rear?

Im new to FS, not to get too personal, but what pressure are you all running in the rear shock, and what is your weight?
    I have a Stumpjumper FSR with Fox float R
    I am 175lbs, I tried 160, 190 psi and didnt notice much change.

Bike to the Bone...
    Quote Originally Posted by prod
    Im new to FS, not to get too personal, but what pressure are you all running in the rear shock, and what is your weight?
    I have a Stumpjumper FSR with Fox float R
    I am 175lbs, I tried 160, 190 psi and didnt notice much change.
    I don't know how to interpolate your weight with mine. I have a '04 model (it has 100mm rear travel). I'm 230 lbs plus gear. I run it about 250lbs.

I think you should adjust your shock so that the sag is about 20-25% of the stroke length..... What this means is that when you just sit on the saddle, the shock slides 20-25% of it's possible length.

The way you do this is:

1. Put the o-ring closest to the head of the shock.
    2. Sit on the bike smoothly (try to prevent any bouncing)
    3. Get our of the bike.
    4. Measure how much the o-ring was displaced, and it should be around that percentage.

If you get too much distance, put some more air. If you get too short travel, remove some air from your shock.

If you put the valve and remove it, you're going to hear some air out. This is normal, it's because the air that is in the pump get's out. When you reinstall the pump, you will hear some air out, and see that you're about 10 psi lower than what you inflated it. This is normal, and this is the air that leaves the shock and enters the pump.

mtbr member
    I have the Fox ProPedal that came with my "05" FSRXC

Currently I have it setup at 210psi and I weight 155lbs. I would set it higher but I cant twist it off any faster.