mtbr member
    Nov 2009

what wheelset should I get for my RH comp?

(2009 rockhopper comp disc.)

I ride trails, mostly crosscountry. No mountains or downhill, but I like jumps. I dont want a wheel so light that it breaks on a two foot jump, but when i'm on the flats I need something light to not wear me out
    shopping on bicyclewheelwarehouse for a new wheelset. currently looking at any of the following. Any suggestions are welcome I've never done this before

mavic 317:
    http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com...d&productId=45

mavic 321:
    http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com...d&productId=26

mavic 521:
    http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com...&productId=147

WTB dual duty XC:
    http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com...&productId=203

sun rhyno lite
    http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com...d&productId=31

or Azonic Outlaw, which apparantly are strong but realllly heavy

btw this will be with a 20mm thru axle on manitou minute super

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    and should I go with 100 or 120 for my fork? stock is 100

Religion = Non-thinking
    Which hubs do u plan on using?
    RH SL Pro

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    jsut shimano xt's for now, maybe some hopes at a later date

cougarbait
    of all of those, the 317. I think dt swiss 4.2d is better though
    get supercomp spokes if you are going with BWW
    azonic outlaw is way overkill for what you are doing, and they weigh a sack of bricks

100mm, no more, no less. also, thru-axle on a rockhopper is also overkill.. finally that fork isn't a good match for the frame

it's not a wise idea to plan on upgrading hubs later down the road. very cost ineffective
    09AS-Rsl/09Six

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I agree, for what you are doing the 4.2d would be perfect (though the name is different now430 I think). Comp spokes and xt hubs would be fine as well. As far as the fork goes 100mm is what I would stick with. Look for Rebas if you are price conscious or Fox if not.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009