mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Upset What do you think about these Hardrock problems..

I purchased a Hardrock Sport Disc 07 from a dealer in Shrewsbury, England at the end of November 2007. Since then I have suffered serious chain suck problems and chain skipping problems. I have probably done 15-20 miles per week since then (once a week on trails)

As I have only just taken the sport up I am not an expert in what to look for and how to cure these sorts of problems. I took the bike for its first service in December and explained the problem.. the dealers thought it would just be the cables and hence serviced it and gave it back to me.

I did not use the bike until early January and it still suffered with chain suck under power on the granny or middle ring. I took the bike back and the said the chain and cassette had worn and that was causing the problems. Despite the low mileage I had racked up I accepted that its wear and tear and therefore I would have to pay... 30 plus labour.

The next couple of outings I still have chain sucking problems so the bike went back again and this time the middle ring was changed at a cost to me of 20.

The next ride out the problem persisted so I took it back again and this time the granny ring was replaced. This cost me a further 10. We are now into February and I am still having problems with both rings. I clicking noise can be hear on every turn of the pedals in the middle ring and the ring does not look straight and the chain does not want to sit in the teeth at the point the ring looks bent. Maybe it is the crank that is bent/twisted/fitted incorrectly? Maybe its a frame issue... I just don't know.

I have advised the dealer that I am still having problems and the response was 'its because you are riding it' which I assume means its wear and tear.