Thread: Tubeless or Not

mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Tubeless or Not

Is there anyone riding tubeless with regular tires that can give me some input on any problems that they may have had? I bought a pair of Enduro I9s last year and decided I want to go tubeless but wanted to keep riding the tires that I always run which as far as I know arent made ust (Kenda Blue Gooves 2.35 ).

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    TUBELESS is the way to go. IMHO. I've been riding it for about 7 years. First with Stans strips and then to UST rim/UST tire...far superior. If you run just the tape and sealant, make sure the tape is put on correctly. Make sure you run enough pressure in your tire and play with it every ride and find that "sweet spot" as far as PSI. It will take few rides to get it dialed in but when you do, it will be worth it. If you runs strip, it's easy just follow the directions or the video on the website.

Everyone has had various problems here and there, just try it and see if you like it. If you know someone that has set up tubeless before, ask for their help. I find that "Tubeless rookies" don't often know the tricks and tips to get it done right the first time and that is where the frustration lies. No offense, just sayin.

Ride on.

Freedom Isn't Free
    Yes. Ultra light tires will have thinner sidewalls and you may have trouble sealing them. Not impossible though with a little patience. I run Stans sealant and it works great. I have run Stans w/Kenda tires. Follow their directions and you will be good to go. I'd recommend stems w/removable cores so you can use the injector to add new sealant rather than having to unhook the tire. I have not used UST tires.

Setting up tubeless w/sealant can get real messy (seems to always get sealant on the floor)...just warning you.

mtbr member
    Jan 2011