DAC M5 Beast
    Aug 2007

Triad versus Brain Fade?

I'm still doing my debate between the 2007 stumpy elite and expert. Taking cost out of the equation, which is the better choice? No racing mostly cross country riding no big drops and I do like to climb, but there arenít long mile climbs around here where I live. My LBSís say it's definitively the brain, but here on mtbr it seems like a mixed opinion.

mtbr member
    I have over 600 miles on my 2007 FSR Expert and have nothing but good to say about the brain. It has been reliable and seems to work as advertised. I like the fact that I don’t have to manually lock out the shock if I am going to do any out of the saddle peddling.

I have been riding full suspension MTB since 2000 (Cannondale Super V, Raven and Jekyll and most recently a Trek Fuel Ex-9) all of which will do some serious rear end bob if you get out of the saddle. Due to this I have developed a riding style where I sit and spin.

I don’t have any experience with the Triad, but would assume it would behave similar to the bikes I listed above.

The bottom line is that I like the fact I don’t have to adjust the shock on the fly.

By the way the terrain here in SW Michigan consists of rolling hills and short steep climbs.
    2010 Gary Fisher Superfly
    2010 Kona Jake the Snake
    2007 Specialized Stump Jumper FSR Expert
    2006 Klein Q-Pro

mtbr member
    It depends on how important lockout (or a fully active suspension) is to you. I rarely use the lockout, if at all, on my 07 Elite. As I have ridden XC-style stuff my whole MTB "life," I wanted full suspension to take the jarring out of crossing rock gardens and to speed up my descents. I have found rear suspension to be the most useful when climbing though, and locking it out doesn't help at all. Even when riding up a dirt road I don't bother and just use ProPedal if I am really tired and not spinning smoothly enough. But, most of the time I just leave the shock open.
    1997 Specialized Stumpy Pro