mtbr member
    Oct 2010

Suggestions to shave 4-5 pounds off my bike: 08 Rockhopper Comp

Hi,

I am a total noob as I just acquired a 2008 Rockhopper comp (pretty much STOCK) off my coworker. I want to hit the trails around San Diego and would like this bike to be a little bit lighter. Right now it is close to 30 pounds and I want it to be at around 26 but I don't know what parts to replace to get it there. I don't want to spend exorbitant amounts of money to do so but if you guys can give me suggestions I can look on ebay for used parts.

Thanks!
    gse

stock specs from specialized.com

FRAME: M4 manipulated alloy frame, butted ORE DT, forged dropouts w/ replaceable 98954020 alloy hanger, disc only
    REAR SHOCK: N/A
    FORK: RockShox Tora 302 SL, 100mm, 32mm Cr-Mo stanchions and alloy steerer, Mag lower, coil spring, preload adj., LO w/ reb. adj.
    HEADSET: 1 1/8" threadless
    STEM: Specialized 3D forged alloy, four bolt, 31.8mm, 7 degree rise
    HANDLEBARS: Specialized alloy butted 31.8mm XC rise w/ graphic, 640mm wide, 8 degree back, 8 degree up sweep
    TAPE/GRIPS: Specialized Enduro, dual density Kraton
    FRONT BRAKE: Avid BB-5, mechanical disc, 6" G2 Clean Sweep rotor
    REAR BRAKE: Avid BB-5, mechanical disc, 6" G2 Clean Sweep rotor
    BRAKE LEVERS: Avid FR-5
    FRONT DERAILLEUR: Shimano Deore FD-M530, 34.9mm clamp
    REAR DERAILLEUR: Shimano Deore RD-M531, SGS cage
    SHIFT LEVERS: Shimano Deore SL-M530 trigger
    CASSETTE FREEWHEEL: Shimano HG-50, 9-speed, 11-34t
    CHAIN: KMC X9, 1/2" x 3/32" w/ reusable Missing Link
    CRANKSET: Shimano FC-M442-8, replaceable rings w/ alloy outer, Octalink Spline
    CHAINRING: S44A/32S/22S
    BOTTOM BRACKET: Shimano BB-ES25, Octalink spline, cartridge bearing, 68 x 118mm for 50mm chainline
    PEDALS: Specialized alloy 1pc body and cage, 9/16"
    RIMS: Specialized/Alex RHD 26, double wall, eyelets, for disc brakes