mtbr member
    Mar 2008

stumpy for all mountain?

so im trying to decide what kind of bike i should get. ive been riding seriously for about 2 years now on an 04 GT i-drive 2.0 and thought its time to upgrade. i want to get into some XC racing along with some free riding. ive had my eyes on the stumpjumper mainly because it has the brain technology on it. after looking at the prices tho i thought i should just get the elite. pay alot less and do without the brain. after test riding a comp i feel like i just gotta have one now. but im not sure if a stumpjumper would be best for XC racing and light free riding. can anyone suggest what type of bike would be best for me? would it be better to get a stumpjumper for all mountain purposes / XC racing or would it be better to get something like an SX trail or Enduro. im on a tight budget. ive been told i might as well get 2 bikes but i just cant afford it.

main questions is:
    can stumpy do light free riding? if so...
    which bike stumpy? or something more on the free ride line?
    if anyone has ridden the brain, can you tell me what you think about it. is it worth the extra money going from an elite to the expert or even pro?

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    i was trying out a stumpy elite the other day its a great bike, light and tough, you could definately xc race it and its geo and travel will handle most all mountain stuff, if your a graceful rider itll also do jumps and drops pretty well, however if you want to go more towards freeride an enduro sl might be better, its also still a light bike you can definately do xc on it,

i have an SX on the way but this is a freeride bike, its burly and heavy and more of a gravity bike, i have my epic for the xc stuff, the Enduro sl is probably your best best as an all rounder for the type of riding you describe