mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Stumpjumper Tires

Last November I purchased a 08 SJ FSR Comp from my LBS that didn't come with the S -Works Captain tires. Being that I am new to mtb I did't realize I was riding on the resoulution tires that are on the Hardrock. After many many flat tires and the tires wearing out I replaced them with Panaracer XC Pros and it seems I am riding a different bike.The mechanic who was changing the tires told me the tires I had on my bike were not the original specd tires for your bike, this was after the new tires were paid for and put on the bike. My question is this normal for manufactures to switch tires and should there be some kind of compensation for the new tires?

Just Wanna Ride!
    Feb 2004
    Could be that the shop made the switch on the floor. If someone was looking for a set of Captains they may have pulled them off a bike on the floor and mounted the resolutions in place. Would be surprised if they left Specialized with the wrong tires. Check with the shop if you feel you were wronged.

For the record - the resolution tread pattern is a great tire. The ones you had were probably steel bead and heavier than the new tires and that is the reason for the bike feeling better now - lighter tires are easier to accelerate.

The flats you suffered were not due to the tires. If anything, the heavier Resolutions would have been more durable than the lighter weight Captains.

Ride Like the Wind
    Did you check to see if the wheels werent switched as well??I'm not sure why your bike came with other tires than what was spec'ed,I have not heard of that happening on brand new bike's.YOu didnt buy your bike as a floor model or anything did you?they might have threw on a pair of new tires if they had been used so the bike looked new to sell it.

turtles make me hot
    Yeah. Look at your hubs and rims and make sure that's what's supposed to be on there. Some kid assembling bikes there could have pulled a switch on you while building the bike.