mtbr member

Cool-blue Rhythm Is the Stumpjumper FSR Exper right for me?

Hello; I'm wondering if this bike is right for me, I ride xc and like to climb a lot but I'm slow on downhills, I'm 5'11' and 230lb!! and that is my concern, I don't do drops or any agresive ride other than some epic xc rides but I want to make sure the stumpy can handle the weight and before you guys say anything I'm working on lowering the weight (I was 250lb last year when I started riding). Any one with similar problem or feedback? Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by bajamtnbkr
    Hello; I'm wondering if this bike is right for me, I ride xc and like to climb a lot but I'm slow on downhills, I'm 5'11' and 230lb!! and that is my concern, I don't do drops or any agresive ride other than some epic xc rides but I want to make sure the stumpy can handle the weight and before you guys say anything I'm working on lowering the weight (I was 250lb last year when I started riding). Any one with similar problem or feedback? Thanks.
    I recently experienced the same dilemna after I got the go ahead from my wife to buy a new bike Your descriptions of the kind of rides you do sound very similar to my style of riding. I am also 5' 11' and weigh 215 and the Large is the perfect size for me. I had a 2001 Stumpjumper M4 hard tail and loved it. But, after 3-4 years of riding my skills had progressed to the point where I was told by fellow biking folks that I should consider the jump to a full suspension. After extensive research, test rides, visits to MTBR etc ( and driving everyone in the office crazy talking about which bike to get) I decided to get the 2005 Stumpjumper Expert Disc 100. I got the bike about a month ago. Here are my impressions:
    THIS BIKE ROCKS!!!!!!!!
    If a bike could be "Sexy" then this bike is!