Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    CS2
    mtbr member

Stumpjumper Brake Squealing

I know the older models have been discussed at length but has anyone had a problem with the 2011 or 2012 Stumpjumpers? They both use the same brakes. I saw some nice closeouts on 2011s today. I hate to get a bike that's going to be in the shop more than the trail.
    A garage full of steel frames means happiness.

mtbr member
    My 2012 Stumpy Evo 29 HT has the Elixir 7s. They are loud and vibrate. I have tried it all, dealer has tired too. I am replacing the rotors with Alligators as that is a possible fix. Will see if it works. To be honest, I am used to it but it still sucks. I clean them religiously and they are quite for a bit and then as they get hot and dusty/dirty, gobbling/vibrations start. Wouldn't hesitate to buy the bike again, its worth it even if I have to dump another few hundred in it at some point for new brakes.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    I never had a problem with the brakes on my StumpJumper, Avid Elixir R's. Having said that, I did put new pads on the rear, went thru the bedding process, and developed a squeal. Removed the pads and rotor, scuffed'em up with some emery paper wiped everything down with alcohol and they haven't made a peep since.

mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    I have tried it all, dealer has tired too.
    What does this mean? What have you and your LBS tried? I'm only asking because I have a new less then 1 month old Stumpy (2012) that squeals like a pig and the front also vibrates at times. I also don't feel like I really get a lot of stopping power from these 7 SL's. I was thinking about just converting to organic. I know they reduce squealing and grip better. The trade off is frequent replacement. Thoughts?

mtbr member
    Nov 2011