mtbr member
    Oct 2010

Specialized 2011 Crosstrail Sport Disc vs. 2010 Rockhopper Expert 29er???

Ok...I'm just getting into biking and need some advice. While I rode bikes a lot throughout my childhood and all the way up to college, I rode for the most part, a BMX type bike. Now I'm looking to get a bike for fitness and fun. I looked at both mountain bikes and road bikes, and figured initially on a hybrid since it offers me some versatility. I don't plan on doing serious mountain biking, but think it might be fun hitting some trails every now and then. As for the majority of my riding I will probably do more bike paths, light gravel or dirt trails, and sometimes grass.

I've narrowed my choices to the 2011 Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc and the 2010 Specialized Rockhopper Expert 29er. I understand the Rockhopper is specifically a mountain bike, but I think the 29 inch wheels would help with road efficiency and make it comparable to a hybrid for road use. I can get the 2010 Rockhopper Expert 29er for about $150 more than the Crosstrail Sport Disc because it's on clearance. At first I thought the Rockhopper would win hands down, but I have read that the 2010 Rockhoppers were built with lesser components and therefore were cheaper bikes in comparison with other years versions of the Rockhopper. So basically my question is this: Is the 2010 Rockhopper Expert 29er worth the extra $150 ($825 on clearance) over the 2011 Crosstrail Sport Disc ($675)???

Maybe I'm reading too much into the reviews, but I would appreciate any insight to this. Both bikes feel comfortable to ride so I'm just looking at it from a value standpoint.

Here's the links to each bikes specifications:

2011 Crosstrail Sport Disc
    http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/...=Path%2FGravel

2010 Rockhopper Expert 29
    http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/...4&menuItemId=0

Thanks in advance!

Just Wanna Ride!
    Feb 2004